Just a First-Timer Here…

I have to admit, I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to reading blogs. My morning usually starts with me reading several different blogs, all of which have varying subjects and topics. I tend to stick to blogs dealing with fitness, nutrition, fashion and recipes. It might be kind of creepy, but I think it’s interesting to have insight into other people’s lives. Most of the time I find myself wanting to emulate their lifestyle and finding inspiration from their daily posts. When I first considered the thought of starting my own blog, I dismissed the thought pretty quickly. I just found it hard to believe that someone would be the least bit interested in what I do on a daily basis. I mean I’m hardly what I’d consider to be inspirational. Besides, what would my blog even be about? I brainstormed several different options, but realized I wasn’t exactly a professional in any subject area. Who was I to write a blog about baking when I only do it for fun? Or write a blog about fitness and nutrition when I’m not a personal trainer or dietician? Or a fashion blogger, when my style comes from pinterest?

The more I thought about it, the more I came to realize that I wouldn’t be starting a blog for OTHER people, but for myself. I first decided on the name “Cupcakes & Grapes” when I was pretty gung-ho on baking cupcakes every day of my life. This was at a time when I was unemployed and desperate to find hobbies to fill the countless free hours I had. The “Grapes” part came from the simple fact that I love wine. (Yes, I do love fitness, despite my incessant sweet tooth and seemingly lush behavior.) My plan was to blog about all the delicious sweet treats that I baked and ate, sometimes with a fabulous bottle of wine. While this seemed like a great idea, it turns out I don’t have much time for baking, at least not like I used to. I wasn’t baking things on a day-to-day, or even weekly, basis and found myself writing only THREE blog posts in about 4 months time. Wow, dedication.

So for the past couple weeks, this blog has been weighing on my mind. I WANT a blog, I really do. I love to write (when it’s not a research paper). So after a week long internal struggle, I’ve decided to get back in the game! And what will the blog be about this time? I’m glad you asked, I’m sure you’re dying to know. Cupcakes & Grapes will focus on indulging in life as a twenty-something. Huh? I don’t get it. Basically, living an indulgent life. Seizing the day. Carpe diem. Cliche? Maybe. I’m almost 27. Single. Living in a young, vibrant city. This blog is a way for me to document all the awesome things I’m doing in my life. From baking, sipping cheap wine and reading books, to fun-filled trips with friends, my family, and the fashion styles I’m obsessing over. A lifestyle blog, if you will. Without having a specific focus, I can blog about WHATEVER I want and I’m hoping eventually a clearer focus will reveal itself. But, for now, anything is fair game. Since I do have a 9-5, I’m going to aim to check in once a week, at the end of the week. You see, my life is relatively boring and redundant from Monday-Thursday. But when Friday rolls around, that’s when I come to life baby.

I’m excited to be able to document this part of my life. I think it’ll be pretty cool to look back in 6 months or a year and see all the fun (or not so fun) things I’ve done and how far I’ve actually come. I’m a little anxious about starting this blog, and I’m sure it’ll take me a while to get the hang of it, but it’s time to live a little. So, here’s to the beginning of another adventure. I’m glad you’ll be following along.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Just a First-Timer Here…

Leave a Reply

