Baking with Blueberries

Fruit is something I can eat all day every day. Every morning, I bring a tupperware of mixed fruit to eat at work. It’s usually a mix of cantaloupe (my favorite!), watermelon, raspberries, strawberries and blueberries. You know how I know I’m getting older? Because I actually pay attention to what fruits and vegetables are in season now. Summer is for watermelon, berries, peaches, cherries, etc. I stock up on the same fruits every week at the store and I know exactly how much I need to make it last until my next grocery trip. Normally, I pick up a pint of blueberries and put them in my mixed fruit, as well as my Green Monster protein shakes. This week, I decided to do something a little different.

I used these beauties to make Almond Flour Blueberry Muffins. Since I’ve been reading a new book about going wheat-free (book review to come), I’ve been wanting to bake with almond flour. I had never thought about it, but almond flour has many more health benefits than all-purpose. It’s made from almonds, so it’s high in protein and low in carbohydrates.

I was a little nervous for the outcome seeing as I’d never experimented with this type of baking. But, I had no reason to be. They were absolutely delicious! This will not be the last time I bake with almond flour (though it’s a bit pricey :/).

Baking these might have been the highlight of my week, if it weren’t for…

Channing Tatum and Magic Mike. I mean…wow. Not the most compelling plot, but let’s be serious, who doesn’t love watching men like that dance around with shirts off for 2 hours? It makes me a bit awkward to know that my mom and her friends saw it before I did. Seriously though, look at the price on that ticket….$10.50!!! I absolutely love a trip to the movies, but with a price like that (and no student discount on Saturdays, still got that student ID) my trips are few and far between. It also forces me to pop my own popcorn beforehand and sneak it into the theatre. I like to live life on the wild side.

I hope everyone had a great week! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

